Minutes of the meeting of the City Council (Extraordinary)

held at the Council Chamber, Council House

on 13 November 2023 from 5.20 pm - 5.50 pm

Attendances:

- ✓ Councillor Carole McCulloch (Lord Mayor)
 - Councillor Saj Ahmad
- ✓ Councillor Liaqat Ali
- ✓ Councillor Leslie Ayoola
- √ Councillor Cheryl Barnard
- √ Councillor Steve Battlemuch
- ✓ Councillor Graham Chapman
- ✓ Councillor Kevin Clarke
- ✓ Councillor Audrey Dinnall
- ✓ Councillor Michael Edwards
- √ Councillor Nadia Farhat
- ✓ Councillor Faith Gakanje-Ajala
- √ Councillor Samuel Gardiner
- √ Councillor Sam Harris
- ✓ Councillor Jay Hayes
- ✓ Councillor Patience Uloma Ifediora
- √ Councillor Imran Jalil
- ✓ Councillor Corall Jenkins
- ✓ Councillor Maria Joannou
- ✓ Councillor Kirsty Jones
- √ Councillor Kirsty L Jones
- √ Councillor Helen Kalsi
- ✓ Councillor Angela Kandola
- ✓ Councillor Anwar Khan
 Councillor Gul Nawaz Khan
- ✓ Councillor Neghat Khan
 Councillor Zafran Nawaz
 Khan
- ✓ Councillor Paylos Kotsonis

- ✓ Councillor Sam Lux
- ✓ Councillor Sulcan Mahmood Councillor Farzanna Mahmood Councillor AJ Matsiko
- √ Councillor David Mellen
- ✓ Councillor Sajid Mohammed
- √ Councillor Fozia Mubashar
- √ Councillor Salma Mumtaz
- √ Councillor Sana Nasir
- ✓ Councillor Devontay Okure
- ✓ Councillor Nayab Patel
- ✓ Councillor Georgia Power
- √ Councillor Shuguftah Quddoos
- ✓ Councillor Ethan Radford
- √ Councillor Nick Raine
- √ Councillor Eunice Regan
- ✓ Councillor Sarita-Marie Rehman-Wall
- √ Councillor Samina Riaz
- ✓ Councillor Andrew Rule
- ✓ Councillor Naim Salim
- ✓ Councillor Michael Savage
- ✓ Councillor Matt Shannon
- √ Councillor Hayley Spain
- ✓ Councillor Maria Watson
- √ Councillor Adele Williams
- ✓ Councillor Linda Woodings
- ✓ Councillor Audra Wynter
- ✓ Indicates present at meeting

1 Apologies for Absence

Councillor Sai Ahmad (personal)

Councillor Gul Khan (unwell)

Councillor Zafran Khan (unwell)

Councillor Farzanna Mahmood (unwell)

Councillor AJ Matsiko (unwell)

2 Declarations of Interests

None

3 Appointment of Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen

Councillor David Mellen, Leader of the Council, proposed the report recommending that Council appoint seven former councillors as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen in recognition of their eminent service to Nottingham City Council. The report was seconded by Councillor Audra Wynter, who also spoke in support of the nomination of Merlita Bryan. Councillor Cheryl Barnard spoke in support of the nomination of Eunice Campbell-Clark; Councillor Leslie Ayoola spoke in support of the nomination of Rosemary Jacobs (formerly Healy); Councillor Michael Edwards spoke in support of the nomination of Sally Longford; Councillor Liaqat Ali spoke in support of the nomination of Roger Steel; and Councillor Georgia Power spoke in support of the nomination of David Trimble.

Resolved to appoint Merlita Bryan, Eunice Campbell-Clark, Rosemary Jacobs (formerly Healy), Sally Longford, Anne Peach, Roger Steel and David Trimble as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen.

The Meeting concluded at 5.50 pm